• 2018 -Position 30

    XGID=-EbbF-D--a-----a---bcbb---:0:0:1:00:0:0:3:0:10

    Money Play. Should Red double? If doubled, should White take?

    This is pretty much a standard back game except that Red has already cleared his 5-pt.

    Does that make a difference? The simple answer is no. The correct time to double a back game is when you still have three points to clear in front of the defender's front anchor.

    Red should double - it is a blunder not to do so - and White should take - dropping is worse than a double blunder.

    2 Comments

    • 1. Feb 13 2018 6:12PM by Peder

      D/T. The rule of thumb says D/T with three points to clear. Here we have two factors working in different directions. Only two points to clear, but with a gap. My guess is that they cancel each other out.

    • 2. Feb 14 2018 11:48AM by Rumen

      Only 4 market losers for Red - 6/6, 5/5 , 2/2 , 1/1. I would wait one more roll, because most of the time the take/pass decision for White will be more borderline then.

Photo crop (passport)

Web feed

Welcome to my blog of interesting backgammon positions.

These will be posted more or less daily and also tweeted. As I add a new position I will give a commentary for the previous one.

Follow me

Please leave your comments by clicking on the word 'comment' beneath the problem..

Readers are invited to send in their own positions for possible inclusion in Position of the Day to Chris.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.


Get Flash Player