• 2018 - Position 171


    (a) Money Play. Should Red double? If, doubled, should White take?

    (b) Match Play. Red trails 2-5 to 7. Should Red double? If, doubled, should White take?

    My apologies but in my haste to depart on holiday I had the wrong player on roll. The correct diagram and questions are shown above.

    For money White’s structure is so bad that he has to pass Red’s double. However, at the match score, because two points give him exactly the number he needs to win the match, the position becomes an easy take. Once again, the match score is of paramount importance.


    • 1. Oct 2 2018 3:28PM by Peder

      ND/T in both cases. Possibly a beaver for money, if that is part of our rules.

    • 2. Oct 2 2018 8:51PM by Mackenzie

      I would agree with Peder on this one. The only advantage Red seems to have from this position is that they are on roll. That being said, my guess is that this position is not quite a beaver.

    • 3. Oct 7 2018 7:24AM by Leo

      ND/T in the match situation. Red has a huge stack on the one point and two gaps which weakens his position considerably. For money, as white I'd be rubbing my hands if red doubled and beaver.

Photo crop (passport)

Web feed

Welcome to my blog of interesting backgammon positions.

These will be posted more or less daily and also tweeted. As I add a new position I will give a commentary for the previous one.

Follow me

Please leave your comments by clicking on the word 'comment' beneath the problem..

Readers are invited to send in their own positions for possible inclusion in Position of the Day to Chris.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player